Marriage License Information and Instructions
This information is provided to answer questions you may have about obtaining a Marriage License, prior to visiting the Sahuarita Municipal Court.
You may apply for a Marriage License Monday thru Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. You may complete the Marriage License Affidavit and bring it with you when you come to the courthouse.
The current fee for obtaining a Marriage License is a total of $76.00. $74.50 must be in the form of a check, money order or cashier’s check; made out to: Clerk of Superior Court. The remaining $1.50 may be paid in cash, check, money order, cashier’s check or credit card. (There is a processing fee to use your credit card. Please review the Fine/Fees).
Both bride and groom must appear with valid I.D and have a social security number (SSN) to obtain a marriage license.
The age of legal consent is 18 years of age (yoa). If you appear under the age of 21, our clerks may request proof of age, so please bring a Birth Certificate, Baptismal Certificate, Passport or Military I.D.
a. If either or both of you are 16 or 17 years old, the consent of at least one of your parents is required and can be accomplished by a subscribed, sworn and notarized statement containing the names of both the bride and groom and granting you the permission to wed or by completing form 18-99 CONSENT TO MARRIAGE. If your parents are divorced, or legally separated, the legal CUSTODIAL PARENT must consent to the issuance of the license. Proof of custodial parent shall be requested.
b. If either or both of you are 15 years of age or younger, the law requires an order signed by the Juvenile Court Judge of the Superior Court. Call Juvenile Court at 740-2064 for information on obtaining a court order.
Both of you must appear in person to sign the Marriage License affidavit and take an oath as to the truth of the statements you have made.
The State of Arizona does not require a blood test and there is no waiting period requirement. The license is valid for 12 months from the date of issuance, but you must marry within that 12 months or the license will expire. The license issued by our office can be used anywhere in the State of Arizona.
Obtaining the Marriage License does not mean you are married. A Justice of the Peace, clergyman, or other authorized person must perform a marriage ceremony and sign the marriage license in order for you to be legally married.
Congratulations and Best Wishes
- One affidavit per couple. CLICK HERE FOR AFFIDAVIT. Both parties are to have valid I.D and to supply the court with a valid Social Security Number (SSN).
- Please print all required information.
- The top two lines are for Clerks official use only.
- The male applicant is to complete the top portion of the affidavit and the female is to complete the bottom portion of the affidavit.
- DO NOT sign the affidavit until told to do so by the clerk.
- In the lower left hand corner, print the address and the phone number where you can be reached between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
- If you are 16 or 17 years old a notarized parental consent is require, or one parent must appear with you. If your parents are divorced or legally separated, the custodial parent must consent to the issuance of the license.CLICK HERE FOR CONSENT FORM
- If you are under the age of 16, a court order and potential consent is required. Call the Juvenile Court at 740-2064 for information on obtaining a court order.
- The clerk will review the affidavit, and take an oath as to the truth of the statements you have made.
- Each party will then be asked the sign the affidavit and the clerk will then type up the actual marriage license.
- Once the license is typed and printed, the clerk will ask the parties to check the printed names on the license for accuracy.
- Once the license has been checked for accuracy, the clerk will sign the marriage license with his/her signature. PLEASE make sure that the application gets signed before leaving the courthouse. The license is not valid unless there is a signature.
- The clerk will return the marriage license to have it signed once you get married.